Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Oboe Music

 M65–M69  Oboe alone:
     M65      Collections (more than one composer)
     M66      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M67      Original works: Separate
     M68      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M69      Arrangements: Separate works
 M110.E5  English horn
 M245–M247  Oboe with piano accompaniment:
     M245      Collections (different composers)
     M246      Separate works, original
     M247      Separate works: arrangements
 M270.E5  English horn
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1022  Oboe with orchestra, full scores
 M1022.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1023  Oboe with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1034.E5  English horn
 M1122  Oboe with string orchestra, full scores
 M1122.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1121  Oboe with string orchestra, piano reductions
 M1134.E5  English horn

 

Oboe studies and methods:

 MT360  General works
 MT362  Systems and methods
 MT363  Teaching pieces
 MT364  Instructive editions
 MT365  Studies and exercises
 MT366  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT367  Two oboes
 MT368  Self-instructors
 MT376  English horn

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo oboe music: sonatas (oboe)suites (oboe)variations (oboe); etc.; oboe music
Oboe and piano music: rondos (oboe and piano)sonatas (oboe and piano)suites (oboe and piano); variations ( oboe and piano); oboe and piano music, etc.
Duets:

oboe music (oboes (2))

bassoon and oboe musicclarinet and oboe musichorn and oboe musichorn and oboe music; etc.

Trios:

woodwind trios (clarinet, flute, oboe)

(or other combinations)

wind trio [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]

trios [various combinations of instruments]; e.g., trios

(clarinet, oboe, violin), trios (oboe, percussion), trios (oboe, guitar, viola)

Quartets:

woodwind quartets [various combinations]; suites [various combinations of instruments];

variations [various combinations of

instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind,

various combinations]

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Oboe and Orchestra: concertos (oboe)

concertos (oboe) — solo with piano

oboe with orchestra

rondos (oboe with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Bate, Philip. The Oboe, an Outline of its History, Development, and Construction. 3rd ed.New York: W. W. Norton, 1975. ML940.B37.1975

Burgess, Geoffrey, and Bruce Haynes. The Oboe. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2004. ML940 .B97 2004

Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass. Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn: a Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress. Westport, CT:Greenwood Press, 1983. PAC Ref. ML 128.O2 G5 1983

Haynes, Bruce. Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography. 2nd ed.Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1992. PAC Ref. ML 128.O2 H55 1992

Joppig, Gunther. The Oboe and the Bassoon.Trans. Alfred Clayton.London: Batsford, 1988. ML940.J6613 1988

Van Cleve, Libby. Oboe Unbound: Contemporary Techniques. Revised edition. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2014.

Wilkins, Wayne.The Index of Oboe Music including the Index of Baroque Trio SonatasMagnolia, AR: Music Register, 1976. PAC Ref. ML 128.O2 W5 1976

Classification Numbers for Books About the Oboe

Ref. ML128 .F58  Oboe bibliographies
 ML940  General works
 ML941  Construction
 ML942  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals