Vocal Music Research Guide
There is a separate Vocal Music Research Guide that contains more information for vocal music, such as finding text translations, IPA transcriptions, repertoire guides, and more!
How to Use this Guide
This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)
Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.
- The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
- For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
- Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.
- Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
- The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.
The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.
(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)
Call Numbers for Vocal Music
Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!
Secular Vocal Music
| Operas | |
| M1500 | Scores (full) |
| M1503 | Piano-vocal scores |
| M1505–1508 | Excerpts (with original or arranged accompaniment) |
| Other Dramatic Music | |
| M1510–1518 | Incidental music |
| M1520–1526 | Ballets |
| M1527 | Motion picture, radio, and television music |
| M1528–1529.5 | Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
| Songs (including arias and solo cantatas):
Orchestral Accompaniment |
|
| M1611 | Collections: full scores |
| M1612 | Collections: piano-vocal scores |
| M1613 | Separate works: full scores |
| M1613.3 | Separate works: other accompaniment |
| M1614 | Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| M1615 | Arrangements: Collections: full scores |
| M1616 | Arrangements: Collections: piano-vocal scores |
| M1617 | Arrangements: Separate works: full scores |
| M1618 | Arrangements: Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| Songs:
Other accompaniment or no accompaniment |
|
| M1619 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M1620 | Collections: one composer |
| M1621 | Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| M1621.2 | Separate works: unaccompanied |
| M1621.3 | Separate works: accompanied by piano and one other instrument |
| M1621.4 | Song cycles |
| M1622 | Vaudeville, music-hall songs, etc. |
| M1623 | Accompaniment of one other instrument: Collections |
| M1624 | Accompaniment of one other instrument: Separate works |
| M1625–1626 | Recitations with music |
| M1627–1853 | National songs (solo songs and part-songs) |
| M1900–1978 | Songs (solo songs and part-songs) of groups and schools or about special subjects |
| M1990–1998 | Secular music for children |
Sacred Vocal Music
| M2018–2019.5 | Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
| Songs with orchestra, etc. accompaniment | |
| M2102 | Collections |
| M2103 | Separate songs: Full scores |
| M2103.3 | Separate songs: Other accompaniment |
| M2104 | Separate songs: piano-vocal scores |
| M2105–2108 | Arrangements |
| Songs with piano accompaniment | |
| M2110 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M2112 | Collections (one composer) |
| M2113 | Separate songs: accompaniment of one instrument |
| M2113.2 | Separate songs: unaccompanied |
| M2113.3 | Song cycles |
| M2114 | Special texts: By religion or denomination |
| M2115–2146 | Hymnals: By religion or denomination |
| M2190–2196 | Sacred vocal music for children |
Singing and Vocal Techniques
| MT820 | General works |
| MT821 | Physiology and care of the voice |
| MT823 | History of vocal instruction and study |
| Systems and methods | |
| MT825 | American |
| MT830 | English |
| MT835 | French |
| MT840 | German |
| MT845 | Italian |
| MT850 | Other |
| MT853 | Systems using audio-visual aids |
| Special techniques | |
| MT855 | General works |
| MT860 | Chanting |
| MT870 | Sight-singing |
| MT875 | Chorus and part-singing |
| MT878 | Breathing |
| MT882 | Tone production |
| MT883 | Pronunciation; diction |
| MT885 | Studies and exercises |
| MT890 | Instructive editions; teaching pieces |
| MT892 | Interpretation, phrasing, expression |
| MT893 | Self-instructors |
| MT898–916 | Vocal techniques for children |
Subject Headings for Vocal Music
These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.
| Solo vocal music: | songs, unaccompanied
sacred songs, unaccompanied |
| Voice and piano music: |
songs (high voice) with piano, songs (medium voice) with piano, songs (low voice) with piano sacred songs (high voice) with piano, sacred songs (medium voice) with piano, sacred songs (low voice) with piano |
| Duets: |
vocal duets, unaccompanied vocal duets with piano, vocal duets with chamber orchestra, vocal duets with guitar, etc. |
| Trios: |
vocal trios, unaccompanied vocal trios with piano, vocal trios with chamber orchestra, vocal trios with guitar etc. Similar for quartets. quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
Call Numbers for Books about Vocal Music
| Ref. ML128 .S2 | Sacred vocal music bibliographies |
| Ref. ML128.V7 | Vocal music bibliographies |
| Vocal music | |
| ML1400 | General works |
| ML1402–1451 | Vocal music (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML1460 | Vocal technique |
| Secular vocal music | |
| ML1600 | General works |
| ML1602–1651 | By period then region or country |
| ML1700–1751 | Forms and types (general works; by period then region or country) |
| ML2400–2551 | Cantatas and songs: works about both solo songs and part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2600–2670 | Part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2800–2854 | Solo songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2880–2881 | Christmas songs |
| Sacred vocal music | |
| ML2900 | General works |
| ML2902–2951 | By period then region or country |
| ML2999–3197 | Individual religions and denominations |
| ML3201–3275 | Forms and types(oratorio, cantata, chorale) |
New Vocal Music Books 2020-2021
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0429012640Publication Date: 2019-05-23Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide, Third Edition, offers a comprehensive guide to the literature on choral music in the Western tradition. Clearly annotated bibliographic entries guide readers to resources on key topics within choral music, individual choral composers, regional and sacred choral traditions, choral techniques, choral music education, genre studies, and more, providing an essential reference for researchers and practitioners. Covering monographs, bibliographies, selected dissertations, reference works, journals, electronic databases, and websites, this research guide makes it easy to locate relevant sources. Comprehensive indices of authors, titles, and subjects keep the volume user-friendly. The new edition has been brought up to date with entries encompassing the latest scholarship, and updated references and annotations throughout, capturing the continued growth of literature on choral music since the publication of the second edition.
History of Vocal Pedagogy by
Beginning in 1564, with the first physiological treatise of Giovanni Camillo Maffei and ending with the remarkable development of solo singing, the Italian dictum 'chi sa respirare e pronunciare sa cantare' (He who knows how to breathe and pronounce knows how to sing) has been transformed by science into the most sophisticated and complete vocal paradigm in vocal history.In this ground-breaking work, noted tenor, teacher, researcher, and operatic director, Joseph Talia, takes us on an inspiring journey through 450 years of history tracing such important topics as the development of voice production and vocal science, the transition from the sostegno system of breath management to the appoggio system, the debate on vocal registers as a purely a glottal phenomenon, and the importance of vocal elements such as posture, messa di voce, portamento, trills, and many other coloratura techniques and ornaments. All of these are analyzed through the overarching framework of human emotions and impeccable aesthetic appeal, remembering always Tosi's dictum that 'the heart is the greatest of teachers'.Within these pages you will find a wealth of knowledge accumulated by the great singing masters of the past such as Bernacchi, Porpora, Tosi, Mancini, the Garcías, the Lampertis, and the Marchesis, as well as the tremendous and assiduous work performed by vocal scientists throughout history by such scientists as Janwillem van den Berg, Vennard, Hirano, Fant, Ingo Titze, and Sundberg to name just a few."A History of Vocal Pedagogy" is a vital resource for voice teachers, vocal researchers, serious vocal students, and vocal connoisseurs.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1922117811Publication Date: 2017-01-18
Prima Donna: The Psychology of Maria Callas by
Prima Donna: The Psychology of Maria Callas explores the psychological mechanisms underlying the hypnotic power of Callas's artistry and the unfolding of her tragic life story. Although precipitated by the trauma and shame that followed her abandonment by Aristotle Onassis and the rapid deterioration of her voice, Callas's midlife disintegration reflects deep psychological vulnerabilities. In this book, Wink utilizes cutting-edge advances in research on developmental psychology and narcissism to shed light on Callas's puzzling personal deterioration during the last nine years of her life. Lacking a cohesive and integrated sense of self, Callas sought affirmation and vitality from adoring audiences and older men including her husband Battista Meneghini and her long-term partner Onassis. The propensity to fuse her identity with stage roles contributed to her artistic greatness, but envy and the lack of an intrinsic sense of meaning and worth intensified her vulnerability to life's vicissitudes. Prima Donna is both a powerful study of Callas's life and a contribution to the greater body of work on the psychology of artists.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780190857738Publication Date: 2020-12-22
So You Want to Sing Music by Women by
So You Want to Sing Music by Women opens wide a vast repertoire of vocal music written by women to advocate for widespread inclusion of this too-often neglected work in performance repertoire. Hoch and Lister provide a historical and contemporary perspective, chronicling the Western art music canon while also addressing contemporary trends in music theater and CCM. In addition to providing a historical overview and social context in which women created music, this volume explores the music of hundreds of historical and contemporary women composers, such as Hildegard von Bingen, Clara Schumann, Lili Boulanger, Cathy Berberian, Erykah Badu, and Sara Bareilles. In addition to discussions of art song, opera, choral music, and avant garde/experimental music, Erin Guinup and Amanda Wansa Morgan also contribute chapters devoted to music theater, CCM, and advocacy for women composers. Interviews with high-profile composers including Lori Laitman, Rosephanye Powell, Meredith Monk, Georgia Stitt provide accounts from the frontlines of today's composing world. Additional chapters by Scott McCoy and Wendy LeBorgne address vocal technique and health, and Matthew Edwards provides guidance for working with sound technology. The So You Want to Sing series is produced in partnership with the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Like all books in the series, So You Want to Sing Music by Women features online supplemental material on the NATS website. Please visit www.nats.org to access style-specific exercises, audio and video files, and additional resources.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781538116050Publication Date: 2019-03-15
A Spectrum of Voices: Prominent American Voice Teachers Discuss the Teaching of Singing by
Since the publication of the first edition of A Spectrum of Voices there have been significant advances in voice studies. Prominent members of the new generation of voice teachers join their voices with now-canonized teachings. Asking questions about technology, pedagogy, and stylistic changes within the field, Elizabeth L. Blades brings the wisdom from the past and present to voice students at all levels. A Spectrum of Voices draws from the brilliance and combined experience of an elite group of exemplary voice teachers, presenting interviews from more than twenty-five notable teachers, six of them new to this second edition. Voice teachers offer valuable insight into their teaching philosophies, the types of auxiliary training they recommend to their students, and how they structure their lessons. This second edition also addresses significant technological advances of the past twenty years, especially the impact on vocal performance and pedagogy. A quick-and-handy reference for the studio teacher, this book also serves as a text for vocal pedagogy courses and as an essential supplement for physiology and vocal mechanics, teachers and students of singing, music educators, and musical theater performers.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1538107007Publication Date: 2017-12-13
Storytelling in Opera and Musical Theater by
Storytelling in Opera and Musical Theater is the first systematic exploration of how sung forms of drama tell stories. Through examples from opera's origins to contemporary musicals, Nina Penner examines the roles of character-narrators and how they differ from those in literary and cinematic works, how music can orient spectators to characters' points of view, how being privy to characters' inner thoughts and feelings may evoke feelings of sympathy or empathy, and how performers' choices affect not only who is telling the story but what story is being told. Unique about Penner's approach is her engagement with current work in analytic philosophy. Her study reveals not only the resources this philosophical tradition can bring to musicology but those which musicology can bring to philosophy, challenging and refining accounts of narrative, point of view, and the work-performance relationship within both disciplines. She also considers practical problems singers and directors confront on a daily basis, such as what to do about Wagner's Jewish caricatures and the racism of Orientalist operas. More generally, Penner reflects on how centuries-old works remain meaningful to contemporary audiences and have the power to attract new, more diverse audiences to opera and musical theater. By exploring how practitioners past and present have addressed these issues, Storytelling in Opera and Musical Theater offers suggestions for how opera and musical theater can continue to entertain and enrich the lives of 21st-century audiences.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0253049962Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Women Opera Composers: Biographies from the 1500s to the 21st Century by
The history of women in the opera is a grand story. Women were singers and patrons, of course, but from opera's beginnings in Renaissance Italy, they were also opera composers and librettists. At first it was exclusively for the nobility. In the 19th century, with the emergence of the middle class and the rise of nationalism, there were more public theaters and opera seemed to be everywhere. This meant more opportunities for composers, though men predominated. This book focuses on the women, from the 16th century to today, who had successful careers in opera, many of them well known in their time.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780786495139Publication Date: 2016-08-09
