Skip to Main Content
Campbell Library

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

  • The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
  • For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. 
  • Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

 

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.

  • Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
  • The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

 

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.

 

(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)

Call Numbers for Double Bass Music

Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!

M55–M58  Double bass alone:
     M55      Collections (more than one composer)
     M56      Original works: Collections
     M57      Original works: Separate
     M58      Arrangements
 M229–M233  Double bass with piano accompaniment:
     M229      Collections (more than one composer)
     M230      Original works: Collections
     M231      Sonatas
     M232      Suites and variations
     M233      Pieces
 M286–M287  Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1018  Double bass with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
 M1118  Double bass with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and methods:

 MT320
 General works
 MT322
 Systems and methods
 MT330 Studies and exercises: General works
 MT331 
 Orchestral studies
 MT333
 Teaching pieces
 MT333.4
 Instructive editions
 MT334 Self-instructors 

Subject Headings for Double Bass Music

These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.

Solo double bass music: sonatas (double bass); suites (double bass); variations (double bass); etc.; double bass music
Double bass and piano music: rondos (double bass and piano); sonatas (double bass and piano); suites (double bass and piano); variations (double bass and piano); etc.; double bass and piano music
Duets: double bass music (double basses (2))

violin and double bass music; flute and double bass music; horn and double bass music;etc.
Trios: string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; e.g., trios (piano, double basses (2)), trios (flute, horn, double bass)
Quartets: string quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, variouscombinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Double Bass and Orchestra: concertos (double bass)

concertos (double bass) — solo with piano

double bass with orchestra

concertos (double bass with string orchestra)

rondos (double bass with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Call Numbers for Books about the Double Bass

Ref. ML128 .D6  Double-bass bibliographies
ML920  General works
ML921  Construction
ML925  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals

Bass Player (1990--)

Double Bassist (1996--)

Selected Internet Resources