Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Clarinet Music

M70–M74  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet alone:
     M70      Collections (more than one composer)
     M71      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M72      Original works: Separate
     M73      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M74      Arrangements: Separate works
 M248–M252  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with piano accompaniment:
     M248      Collections (more than one composer)
     M249      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M250      Original works: Separate
     M251      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M252      Arrangements: Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind Instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1024  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, full scores
 M1024.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1025  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1124  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, full scores
 M1124.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1125  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Clarinet studies and methods: 

 MT380  General works
 MT382  Systems and methods
 MT383  Teaching pieces
 MT384  Instructive editions
 MT385  Studies and exercises
 MT386  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT387  Two clarinets
 MT388  Self-instructors

 

Bass clarinet studies and methods:
 MT392  General works
 MT392.2  Systems and methods
 MT392.3  Studies and exercises
 MT392.4  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT392.5  Teaching pieces
 MT392.6  Instructive editions
 MT392.7  Two bass clarinets
 MT392.8  Self-instructors

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo clarinet music: sonatas (clarinet)suites (clarinet)variations (clarinet); etc.; clarinet music
Clarinet and piano music: rondos (clarinet and piano)sonatas (clarinet and piano)suites (clarinet and piano)variations (clarinet and piano); etc.; clarinet and piano music
Duets: clarinet music (clarinets (2))

bassoon and clarinet musicclarinet and horn musicclarinet and oboe music; etc.

Trios: woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute) (or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (clarinet, flute, trumpet), wind trios (clarinet, trombone, trumpet)

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios

(viola, clarinets (2)), trios (clarinet, trombone, percussion), trios (clarinet, harp, celesta)

Quartets: woodwind quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Clarinet and Orchestra: concertos (clarinet)

concertos (clarinet) — solo with piano

clarinet with orchestra

rondos (clarinet with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Ellsworth, Jane. A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman and Littlefield, 2015. 

Gee, Harry R. Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980: An Annotated Bibliography. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1981. PAC Ref. ML128.C58 G43

Gibson, Oscar Lee. Clarinet Acoustics. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1994. ML946 .G5 1994

Lawson, Colin. The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995. ML945 .C36 1995

Rendall, F. Geoffrey. The Clarinet: Some Notes Upon Its History and Construction, 3d ed., rev. New York: W. W. Norton, 1971. ML946 .R4 1971

Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Clarinet Music. Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1975. PAC Ref. ML 128.C58 W54

Classification Numbers for Books about the Clarinet

Ref. ML128 .C58  Clarinet bibliographies
 ML945  General works
 ML946  Construction
 ML948  Music and playing

Selected Internet Resources