How to Use this Guide
This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)
Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.
- The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
- For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
- Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.
- Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
- The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.
Please note: As of January 2025 Campbell Library is currently closed for renovations. Please see the renovation website for information on library services.
(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)
Call Numbers for Choral Music
Secular choral music
Choruses with orchestra
| M1530–1533 | Mixed voices |
| M1534–1537 | Mixed voices: Excerpts |
| M1538–1540 | Men’s voices |
| M1541–1542 | Men’s voices: Excerpts |
| M1543–1544 | Treble voices |
| M1545–1546 | Treble voices: Excerpts |
| M1546.5 | Children’s voices |
Choruses with piano
| M1547 | Collections: Choruses, part-songs, glees, madrigals, etc. |
| M1548 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1549 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1550 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1551 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M1552 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M1560 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M1570 | Separate works: Treble voices |
Choruses with other accompaniment
| M1574 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1575 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1576 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1577 | Collections: Treble voices |
Choruses without accompaniment
| M1578 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1579 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1580 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1581 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M1582 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M1590 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M1600 | Separate works: Treble voices |
Other choruses
| M1608 | Choruses in tonic sol-fa notation |
| M1609 | Unison choruses |
| M1610 | Cantatas, choral symphonies for unaccompanied chorus (secular and sacred) |
Sacred choral music
| M1999 | Collections of two or more composers |
Oratorios
| M2000 | Full scores |
| M2002 | Scores without accompaniment |
| M2003 | Scores with piano accompaniment |
| M2004 | Excerpts with original accompaniment |
| M2005 | Excerpts with orchestral accompaniment |
| M2006 | Collections of excerpts with piano accompaniment |
| M2007 | Individual excerpts with piano accompaniment |
Religious services
| M2010–2014 | Roman Catholic Masses: Requiems |
| M2015 | Orthodox |
| M2016 | Anglican |
| M2017 | Lutheran |
| M2017.2 | Other Protestant |
| M2017.6 | Jewish |
Choruses with Orchestra
| M2020–2023 | Mixed voices |
| M2025–2028 | Mixed voices: Excerpts |
| M2029–2030 | Men’s voices |
| M2031–2032 | Men’s voices: Excerpts |
| M2033–2034 | Treble voices |
| M2035–2036 | Treble voices: Excerpts |
Choruses with piano
| M2060 | Collections of accompanied and unaccompanied works |
| M2061 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M2062 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M2063 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M2064 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M2065–2068 | Collections: Special seasons/occasions |
| M2069 | By religion or denomination |
| M2072 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M2073 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M2074 | Separate works: Treble voices |
| M2075–2078 | Separate works: Special seasons/occasions |
For more details, see the full classification schedule.
Subject Headings
These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.
cantatas, sacred
cantatas, secular
choral music
choruses, sacred
choruses, secular
oratorios
sacred vocal music
secular vocal music
Vocal ensembles:
vocal ensemble [secular, 10 or more voices]
vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembles with continuo, etc.
sacred vocal ensemble [sacred, 10 or more voices]
sacred vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
sacred vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembles with continuo, etc.
Call Numbers for Books About Choral Music
| Ref. ML128 .C48 | Bibliographies of choruses |
| Ref. ML128 .O45 | Bibliographies of oratorios |
Choral music
| ML1500–1551 | Choral music (arranged by period then region) |
| ML1554 | Forms and types |
Secular vocal music
| ML2400 | Cantata |
| ML2500 | Songs: General works |
| ML2502–2505 | Songs by period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700, 1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
| ML2510–2513 | North America |
| ML2514–2515 | West Indies and Mexico |
| ML2516–2517 | Central and South America |
| ML2520–2551 | Europe |
| ML2600–2670 | Part-songs (by period, region, then form) |
| ML2800–2881 | Solo songs (by period, region, then form) |
Sacred vocal music
| ML2900 | General works |
| ML2902–2906 | By period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700,1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
| ML2910–2913 | North America |
| ML2914–2915 | West Indies and Mexico |
| ML2916–2917 | Central and South America |
| ML2920–2951 | Europe |
| ML2999–3197 | Individual religions and denomination arranged by period, region, form, then denomination |
Forms and types of sacred vocal music
| ML3201–3251 | Oratorios (arranged by period then region) |
| ML3260 | Cantatas |
| ML3265 | Chorales |
| ML3270 | Church songs |
Singing and vocal technique
| MT875 | Chorus and part-singing |
Selected Bibliography
-
Choral Music
by
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide, Third Edition, offers a comprehensive guide to the literature on choral music in the Western tradition. Clearly annotated bibliographic entries guide readers to resources on key topics within choral music, individual choral composers, regional and sacred choral traditions, choral techniques, choral music education, genre studies, and more, providing an essential reference for researchers and practitioners. Covering monographs, bibliographies, selected dissertations, reference works, journals, electronic databases, and websites, this research guide makes it easy to locate relevant sources. Comprehensive indices of authors, titles, and subjects keep the volume user-friendly. The new edition has been brought up to date with entries encompassing the latest scholarship, and updated references and annotations throughout, capturing the continued growth of literature on choral music since the publication of the second edition.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0429012640Publication Date: 2019-05-23 -
Nineteenth-Century American Choral Music: An Annotated Guide
by
Lowell Mason, Horatio Parker, Amy Beach, Charles Ives, Edward MacDowell, and Arthur Foote are but some of the American composers featured in this guide.
Call Number: PAC Ref. ML 128.C48 D48 1987ISBN: 0914913085Publication Date: 1987-01-01
