Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Flute Music

M60–M64  Flute or alto flute alone:
     M60      Collections (more than one composer)
     M61      Original works: Collections (one composer):
     M62      Original works: Separate
     M63      Arrangements: Collections (one composer):
     M64      Arrangements: Separate works
 M110.P5  Piccolo
 M240–M244  Flute or alto flute with piano accompaniment:
     M240      Collections (more than one composer
     M241      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M242      Original works: Separate
     M243      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M244      Arrangements: Separate works
 M270.P45  Piccolo with piano accompaniment
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1020  Flute or alto flute with orchestra, full scores
 M1020.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1021  Flute or alto flute with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1034.P5  Piccolo with orchestra, full scores
 M1034.5.P5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1035.P5  Piccolo with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1120  Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, full scores
 M1120.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1121  Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, piano reductions
 M1134.P5  Piccolo with string orchestra, full scores
 M1134.5.P5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1135.P5  Piccolo with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Flute studies and methods:

 MT340  General works
 MT342  Systems and methods
 MT343  Teaching pieces
 MT344  Instructive editions
 MT345  Studies and exercises
 MT346  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT347  Two flutes
 MT348  Self-instructors
 MT356  Fife
 MT357  Piccolo

Subject Headings for Flute Music

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo flute music: sonatas (flute)suites (flute)variations (flute); etc.; flute music
Flute and piano music: rondos (flute and piano)sonatas (flute and piano)suites (flute and piano); variations ( flute and piano); flute and piano music, etc.
Duets: flute music (flutes (2))

bassoon and flute musicclarinet and flute musichorn and flute musicoboe and flute musichorn and flute music; etc.

Trios: woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute)

(or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]

trios [various combinations of instruments]; e.g., trios

(clarinet, flute, violin), trios (flute, percussion), trios (flute, guitar, viola)

Quartets: woodwind quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Flute and Orchestra: concertos (flute)

concertos (flute) — solo with piano

flute with orchestra

concertos (flute with string orchestra)

rondos (flute with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Boehm, Theobald. An Essay on the Construction of Flutes. London: Rudall Carte, 1882.

De Lorenzo, Leonardo. My Complete Story of the Flute: The Instrument, the Performer, the Music. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 1992. ML935 .D47 1992

Dzapo, Kyle J. Notes for Flutists : A Guide to the Repertoire. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016. PAC ML937 .D93 2015

Krell, John C. Kincaidiana: A Flute Player's Notebook. Second edition. Santa Clarita, Calif: National Flute Association, 1997.  PAC MT 340 K92K4 1997

Maclagan, Susan J. A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist . Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2009. ML102.F58 M33 2009

Meylan, Raymond. The Flute. Translated by Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR.: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML935.M513 1988

Morris, Gareth. Flute Technique. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. PAC MT 340 M876F5 1991

Quantz, Johann Joachim, and Reilly, Edward R. On Playing the Flute. Second edition. Boston: Northeastern University Press, 2001. MT342 .Q313 2001

Classification Numbers for Books about the Flute

Ref. ML128 .F58  Flute bibliographies
ML935  General works
ML936  Construction
ML937  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals

Flute Talk (1981--)

The Flutist Quarterly (1984--)

Selected Internet Resources