Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Cello Music

M50–M54 Cello alone:
     M50      Collections (more than one composer)
     M51      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M52      Original works: Separate
     M53      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M54      Arrangements: Separate works
 M229–M236  Cello with piano accompaniment:
     M229      Collections (more than one composer)
     M230      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M231      Original works: Sonatas
     M232      Separate works: Suites and variations
     M233      Separate works: Pieces
     M235      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M236      Arrangements: Separate works
 M286–M287  Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287     Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M450  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)
 M451  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)
 M452  Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello
 M452.2  Quartets—four violins
 M452.4  Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1016  Cello with orchestra, full scores
 M1016.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1017  Cello with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1116  Cello with string orchestra, full scores
 M1116.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1117  Cello with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods:

 MT300  General works
 MT302  Systems and methods
 MT305  Studies and exercises: General works
 MT306  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT307  Bowing
 MT308  Positions
 MT309  Chords
 MT310  Other techniques
 MT312  Two violoncellos
 MT314  Teaching pieces
 MT315  Instructive editions: Two or more composers
 MT317  Instructive editions: One composer
 MT318  Self-instructors

Subject Headings for Cello Music

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo cello music: sonatas (cello)suites (cello)variations (cello); etc.; cello music
Cello and piano music: rondos (cello and piano)sonatas (cello and piano)suites (cello and piano)variations (cello and piano); etc.; cello and piano music
Duets:

cello music (cellos (2))

violin and cello musicflute and cello musichorn and cello music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios

(flute, viola, cello), trios (percussion, cellos (2)), trios (guitar, violin, cello)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Cello and Orchestra: concertos (cello)

concertos (cello) — solo with piano

cello with orchestra

rondos (cello with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Classification Numbers for Books about the Cello

 Ref. ML128 .V5  Violoncello bibliographies
 ML910  General works
 ML911  Construction
 ML915  Music and playing

Selected Bibliography

Farish, Margaret K. String Music in Print. 2nd ed. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1973. Ref. ML128.S7F4 1973

Homuth, Donald. Cello Music Since 1960: A Bibliography of Solo, Chamber and Orchestral Works for Solo Cellist.  Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1994. PAC Ref. ML 128.V5 H66 1994

Markevitch, Dimitry. The Solo Cello: A Bibliography of the Unaccompanied Violoncello Literature. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1989. PAC Ref. ML 128.V5 M28 1989

Wasielewski, Wilhelm Joseph von. The Violoncello and Its History. Translated by Isobella S.E. Stigand. New York: Da Capo Press, 1968. ML917.W33.1968

Selected Periodicals

The Strad (1995-present)

Strings (1998-present)