Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Orchestra and Band Music

M1000–M1075  Orchestra (including chamber orchestra)
     M1000      Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms)
     M1001      Symphonies
     M1002      Symphonic poems
     M1003      Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.)
     M1004      Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures)
     M1005–1041      Solo instrument with orchestra (arranged by instrument)
     M1042      Concertos for orchestra
     M1045–1049      Pieces: general, marches, dances
     M1060–1070      Arrangements
     M1075      Potpourris, fantasies, etc.
 M1100–M1160  String orchestra
     M1100      Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms)
     M1101      Symphonies
     M1102      Symphonic poems
     M1103      Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.)
     M1104      Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures)
     M1105–1141      Solo instrument with orchestra (arranged by instrument)
     M1142      Concertos for string orchestra
     M1145–1149      Pieces: general, marches, dances
     M1160      Arrangements
M1200–M1268  Band
     M1200      Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms)
     M1201      Symphonies
     M1202      Symphonic poems
     M1203      Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.)
     M1204      Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures)
     M1205–1241      Solo instrument with band (arranged by instrument)
     M1242      Concertos for band
     M1245–1249      Pieces: general, marches, dances
     M1260      Arrangements

Classification Numbers for Books about Orchestra and Band Music

Literature on orchestra music

 Ref. ML128.O5  Bibliographies of orchestra music
 ML1200  General
 ML1202–1208  By period
 ML1210–1251  By region or country
 ML1254–1270  Forms and types (symphony, suite, overture, concerto, etc.)

 

Literature on band music

 Ref. ML128.O5  Bibliographies of orchestra music
 ML12991354  General

 

Orchestral and Band music—studies and methods

 MT70–71  Instrumentation and orchestration
 MT85  Conducting, score reading and playing
 MT125, 130  Analysis and appreciation
 MT730 Techniques
 MT733733.6   Band

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

orchestral music

orchestral music, arranged

string orchestra music

concertos

concertos, arranged

concertos (chamber orchestra)

concertos (orchestra)

concertos (string orchestra)

overtures

overtures, arranged

overtures (chamber orchestra)

overtures (orchestra)

overtures (string orchestra)

overtures (string orchestra), arranged

symphonic poems

symphonic poems (chamber orchestra)

symphonic poems (string orchestra)

symphonies

symphonies, arranged

symphonies--excerpts

symphonies (chamber orchestra)

symphonies (chamber orchestra), arranged

symphonies (chamber orchestra)--excerpts

symphonies (string orchestra)

symphonies (string orchestra), arranged

symphonies (string orchestra)--excerpts

suites (orchestra), etc. 

Search Music Scores

Selected Periodicals

School Band and Orchestra (2009-present)