Skip to Main Content
Campbell Library

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

  • The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
  • For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. 
  • Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

 

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.

  • Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
  • The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

 

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.

 

(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)

Call Numbers for Trombone Music

Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!

M90–M94  Trombone or bass trombone alone:
     M90      Collections (more than one composer)
     M91      Original works: collections (one composer)
     M92      Original works: separate
     M93      Arrangements: collections (one composer
     M94      Arrangements: separate works
 M262-M263  Trombone or bass trombone with piano:
     M262      Collections
     M263      Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1032  Trombone with orchestra, full scores
 M1032.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1033  Trombone with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1132  Trombone with string orchestra, full scores
 M1132.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1133  Trombone with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods:

 MT460  General works
 MT462  Systems and methods
 MT463  Teaching pieces
 MT464  Instructive editions
 MT465  Studies and exercises
 MT466  Orchestral studies
 MT467  Two trombones
 MT468  Self-instructors
 MT472  Bass trombone or contrabass trombone

Subject Headings for Trombone Music

These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.

Solo trombone music: sonatas (trombone); suites (trombone); variations (trombone); etc.; trombone music
Trombone and piano music: rondos (trombone and piano); sonatas (trombone and piano); suites (trombone and piano); variations (trombone and piano); etc.; trombone and piano music
Duets:

trombone music (trombones (2))

horn and trombone music; trumpet and trombone music; tuba and trombone music; etc.
Trios:

brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet)

(or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (flute, horns (2))

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios

(trombone, percussion, violoncello), trios (piano, trombone, trumpet)
Quartets:

brass quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Trombone and Orchestra: concertos (trombone)

concertos (trombone) — solo with piano

trombone with orchestra

rondos (trombone with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Arling, Harry. “An Annotated Bibliography of Trombone Chamber Literature.” DMA Thesis, Indiana University, 1978. 

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. London: E. Benn, 1966. ML960 .B38

Guion, David M. A History of the Trombone. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010.

Guion, David M.The Trombone: Its History and Music, 1697-1811. New York: Gordon and Breach, 1988. ML965.G84 1988

Lane, G. B. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999. PAC Ref. ML 128.T76 L36 1999

Call Numbers for Books about the Trombone

Ref. ML128 .T76  Trombone bibliographies
 ML965  General works
 ML966  Construction
 ML968  Music and playing