How to Use this Guide
This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)
Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.
- The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
- For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
- Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.
- Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
- The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.
Please note: As of January 2025 Campbell Library is currently closed for renovations. Please see the renovation website for information on library services.
(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)
Call Numbers for Brass Chamber Music
Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!
| M315–M319 | Piano and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M335–M339 | Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
Trios:
| M355 | Collections (both original and arranged works) |
| M356 | Original works: Collections |
| M357 | Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass) |
| M357.4 | Original works: Separate -- Brass only |
| M358 | Arrangements: Collections |
| M359 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M375–M379 | Wind and plucked instruments |
| M380–M384 | Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
Quartets:
| M400–M409 | Organ or reed organ and three other instruments |
| M415–M419 | Piano and three wind instruments |
| M435–M439 | Piano and three wind and plucked instruments |
| M440–M444 | Piano and three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
| M455 | Wind instruments only: Collections (both original and arranged works) |
| M456 | Original works: Collections |
| M457 | Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass) |
| M457.4 | Original works: Separate -- Brass only |
| M458 | Arrangements: Collections |
| M459 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M460–M464 | Stringed and wind instruments |
| M480–M484 | Wind and plucked instruments |
| M480–M484 | Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.
Subject Headings for Brass Music
These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.
| Trios: |
trios [instruments], e.g. trios (piano, trumpet, trombone); trios (piano, horns (2)); etc brass trios [instruments], e.g. (euphoniums (3)); (euphoniums (2), tuba); etc. suites (horn, trombone, trumpet); etc. wind trios (bassoon, horns (2)); etc. |
| Quartets: | brass quartets [instruments], e.g. (horn, trombone, trumpets (2)); etc.
wind quartets (clarinets (2), horns (2)); etc. |
| Quintets: | brass quintets [instruments], e.g. (horn, trombone, trumpets(2), tuba); etc. |
Similar patterns for sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Selected Bibliography
-
THE BRASS TRIO A COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS OF WORKS PUBLISHED FROM 1924 TO 1970
by
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9798659186282Publication Date: 1970 -
Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide
by
Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide is a reference tool for anyone interested in chamber music. It is not a history or an encyclopedia but a guide to where to find answers to questions about chamber music. The third edition adds nearly 600 new entries to cover new research since publication of the previous edition in 2002. Most of the literature is books, articles in journals and magazines, dissertations and theses, and essays or chapters in Festschriften, treatises, and biographies. In addition to the core literature obscure citations are also included when they are the only studies in a particular field. In addition to being printed, this volume is also for the first time available online. The online environment allows for information to be updated as new research is introduced. This database of information is a "live" resource, fully searchable, and with active links. Users will have unlimited access, annual revisions will be made and a limited number of pages can be downloaded for printing.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 1135848270Publication Date: 2010-06-10 -
Literature of Chamber Music
by
Call Number: PAC Ref. ML 1100 C678L4 1997ISBN: 0937276162Publication Date: 1998-05-01 -
Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments
by
Call Number: PAC Ref. ML 128.B73 F3 1990ISBN: 0253321301Publication Date: 1990-06-01
-
The brass quintet: An historical and stylistic survey
by
This document is presented in two parts: Part I, "The History of the Brass Quintet as an Ensemble" concentrates on the events which led to the formation of two ensembles, The New York Brass Quintet and the American Brass Quintet, and the contributions of those groups. The history of these ensembles, and the founding of other ensembles is also discussed. "A Stylistic Survey of Brass Quintet Music and a Guide to Ensemble Performance," concentrates on the music which has been written for this genre. Stylistic details of numerous works from 1950 to the present are discussed in this section, focusing on works which are generally considered to have been accepted into the common repertoire, and works which the author and other brass musicians believe to be in the process of being accepted into the common repertoire. "Annotated Listing of Non-Transcription Brass Quintet Repertoire" is a descriptive listing of 1,213 works by 815 composers. A complete listing includes a short biography of each composer, name of the work(s) written, publisher, available recordings, difficulty level, and, in most cases, a short description. The last section of Part I is a compilation of project research materials including references, the lecture recital program, and appendices. Part II contains those materials which are pertinent to the Doctor of Musical Arts Degree but which are not otherwise related to this document, including recital programs, program notes, and vita.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9780599043855Publication Date: 1998
-
Twentieth-Century Chamber Music
by
20th-Century Chamber Music features an introduction giving a chronological overview of 20th-century chamber music and the major composers in the style, setting in context the following chapters that cover a wide selection of chamber works grouped thematically, including program music; vocal chamber music; works for new ensembles; the modern sonata; and contemporary string quartets. Composers covered range from Schoenberg and Bartók to Toru Takemitsu and George Crumb. The book is ideal for a course focussing on the history of chamber music or a unit in a 20th-century music on the chamber works of the era. Plus, students and scholars will find it an excellent resource summarizing current research.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 1135887063Publication Date: 2004-03-01 -
A SELECTED AND ANNOTATED LISTING OF 20TH CENTURY ENSEMBLES PUBLISHED FOR THREE OR MORE HETEROGENEOUS BRASS INSTRUMENTS
by
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9798659188354Publication Date: 1968
