Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Guitar Music

M125–M129  Guitar alone:
     M125      Collections (more than one composer)
     M126      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M127      Original works: Separate
     M128      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M129      Arrangements: Separate works
 M276–M277  Guitar with piano accompaniment:
     M276      Collections
     M277      Separate works
 M292–M293  Duets for two plucked instruments (of all kinds):
     M292      Collections
     M293      Separate works
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M325–M329  Piano and two plucked instruments
 M330–M334  Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M365–M369  Three plucked instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments
 M380–M384  Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1037.4 .G8  Guitar with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
 M1137.4 .G8  Guitar with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and methods:

 MT580  General works
 MT582  Systems and methods
 MT583  Teaching pieces
 MT584  Instructive editions
 MT586  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT587  Two guitars
 MT588  Self-instructors
 MT590–MT599  Other instruments of the guitar family

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo guitar music: sonatas (guitar)suites (guitar)variations (guitar); etc.; guitar music
Guitar and piano music: rondos (guitar and piano)sonatas (guitar and piano)suites (guitar and piano)variations (guitar and piano); etc.; guitar and piano music
Duets: guitar music (guitars (2))

violin and guitar musicflute and guitar musichorn and guitar music; etc.

Trios: Plucked instrument trios [for three plucked instruments]

trios [mixed stringed and plucked, various combinations]

e.g., trios (flute, guitar, violin), trios (guitar, violin, viola)

Quartets: plucked instrument quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of plucked instruments]; variations [various combinations of plucked instruments]; etc.

plucked instrument quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Guitar and Orchestra: concertos (guitar)

concertos (guitar) — solo with piano

guitar with orchestra

concertos (guitar with string orchestra)

rondos (guitar) with orchestra, etc.

Search Music Scores

Classification Numbers for Books about the Guitar

 Ref. ML128 .G8  Guitar bibliographies
 ML1015.G9  Other books

Selected Periodicals

Acoustic Guitar (2005-present)

Guitar Player (1992-present)