Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Violin Music

M40–M44  Violin alone:
     M40      Collections (more than one composer)
     M41      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M42      Original works: Separate
     M43      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M44      Arrangements: Separate works
 M217–M223  Violin with piano accompaniment:
     M217      Collections (more than one composer)
     M218      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M219      Sonatas
     M220      Suites and variations
     M221      Pieces
     M222      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M223      Arrangements: Separate works
 M286–M287  Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M450  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)
 M451  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)
 M452  Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello
 M452.2  Quartets—four violins
 M452.4  Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1012  Violin with orchestra, full scores
 M1012.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1013  Violin with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1112  Violin with string orchestra, full scores
 M1112.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1113  Violin with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods:

 MT260  General works
 MT261  Physiology of the hand
 MT262  Systems and methods
 MT265  Studies and exercises: General works
 MT266  Orchestral studies
 MT267  Bowing
 MT268  Positions
 MT269  Chords
 MT270  Harmonics
 MT271  Other techniques
 MT272  Two violins
 MT274  Teaching pieces
 MT275-6  Instructive editions
 MT278  Self-instructors
 MT279.5  Fiddling; Folk-style violin playing
 MT279.7  Jazz

Subject Headings for Violin Music

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo violin music:

sonatas (violin)suites (violin)variations (violin); etc.;

violin music

Violin and piano music: rondos (violin and piano)sonatas (violin and piano)suites (violin and piano)variations (violin and piano); etc.; violin and piano music
Duets:

violin music (violins (2))

viola and violin musicflute and violin musichorn and violin music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violins (2)), trios (flute, timpani, violin)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Violin and Orchestra:

concertos (violin)

concertos (violin)—solo with piano

violin with orchestra

rondos (violin with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Classification Numbers for Books about the Violin

 Ref. ML128 .V4  Violin bibliographies
 ML802  Construction:. general works
 ML803–M807  Construction: by period
 ML810–M842  Construction: by region or country
 ML845  Construction: by parts of the violin
 ML850  Music and playing: general works
 ML853–M857  Music and playing: by period
 ML860–M892  Music and playing: by region or country
 ML895–M897  Music and playing: by form and type (sonata, suite, other)

Selected Bibliography

Farish, Margaret K. String Music in Print. 2nd ed. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1973. Ref. ML128.S7F4 1973

Stowell, Robin. The Cambridge Companion to the Violin. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. ML800 .C35 1992

Stowell, Robin. The Early Violin and Viola: A Practical Guide.  Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001.

Strange, Patricia, and Allen Strange. The Contemporary Violin: Extended Performance Techniques. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001. PAC ML 857 S897C6

Selected Periodicals

The Strad (1995-present)

Strings (1998-present)

Selected Internet Resources