How to Use this Guide
This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)
Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.
- The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
- For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
- Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.
- Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
- The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.
Please note: As of January 2025 Campbell Library is currently closed for renovations. Please see the renovation website for information on library services.
(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)
Call Numbers for Viola Music
Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!
| M45–M49 | Viola alone: |
| M45 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M46 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M47 | Original works: Separate |
| M48 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M49 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M224–M228 | Viola with piano accompaniment: |
| M224 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M225 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M226 | Original works: Separate |
| M227 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M228 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M286–M287 | Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds): |
| M286 | Collections |
| M287 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M294–M295 | Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument |
| M310–M314 | Piano and two stringed instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M330–M334 | Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument |
| M349–M353 | Three stringed instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M370–M374 | Three stringed and plucked instruments |
| M450 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium) |
| M451 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer) |
| M452 | Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello |
| M452.2 | Quartets—four violins |
| M452.4 | Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1014 | Viola with orchestra, full scores |
| M1014.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1015 | Viola with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1114 | Viola with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1114.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1115 | Viola with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and methods:
| MT280 | General works |
| MT282 | Systems and methods |
| MT285 | Studies and exercises: General works |
| MT286 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT287 | Bowing |
| MT288 | Positions |
| MT289 | Chords |
| MT290 | Harmonics |
| MT291 | Other techniques |
| MT292 | Two violas |
| MT294 | Teaching pieces |
| MT295 | Instructive editions: Two or more composers |
| MT297 | Instructive editions: One composer |
| MT298 | Self-instructors |
Subject Headings for Viola Music
These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.
| Solo viola music: | sonatas (viola); suites (viola); variations (viola); etc.; viola music |
| Viola and piano music: | rondos (viola and piano); sonatas (viola and piano); suites (viola and piano); variations (viola and piano); etc.; viola and piano music |
| Duets: |
viola music (violas (2)) violin and viola music; flute and viola music; horn and viola music; etc. |
| Trios: |
string trios [for three bowed instruments] trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violas (2)), trios (flute, timpani, viola), trios (percussion, violin, viola) |
| Quartets: |
string quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc. string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Viola and Orchestra: | concertos (viola)
concertos (viola) — solo with piano viola with orchestra rondos (viola with orchestra), etc. |
Call Numbers for Books about the Viola
| Ref. ML128 .V36 | Viola bibliographies |
| ML900 | General works |
| ML901 | Construction |
| ML905 | Music and playing |
Selected Bibliography
-
The Early Violin and Viola
by
This practical guide is intended for all violinists and viola players who wish to give - or to understand and appreciate - historically aware performances of early music for their instruments. It comprises discussion of the literature, history and repertory of the violin and viola, the myriad relevant primary sources and their interpretation, and the various aspects of style and technique that combine to make up well-grounded, period performances. It also considers various related family instruments, contains practical advice on the acquisition of appropriate instruments, and offers suggestions for further reading and investigation. Many of the principles outlined are put into practice in case studies of six works composed c.1700-c.1900, the core period which forms this series' principal (though not exclusive) focus. Music by Corelli, Bach, Haydn, Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Brahms is examined with a view to recreating performances as faithful as possible to the composer's original intention.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 0511481837Publication Date: 2009-09-22 -
-
-
Viola source materials: An annotated bibliography
by
ABSTRACT: This treatise presents an annotated bibliography of approximately 500 sources which primarily discuss the viola or which contain large sections of material devoted to the viola. The type of source material represented in this bibliography includes books, sections of books, encyclopedia articles, periodical articles, serials, dissertations, theses, treatises, and unpublished works. The sources date from the earliest extant findings through 1986. The majority of the sources are in English although many European language sources are included.
The bibliography contains chapters on the following subject categories: (1) literature on the history of the viola and its repertoire, (2) bibliographies of compositions for viola, (3) analyses of compositions for viola, (4) literature on viola pedagogy, (5) literature on notable violists, (6) literature on the construction and acoustics of the viola, and (7) miscellaneous. Entries that apply to more than one category are listed in each appropriate section of the bibliography and have a cross reference to the location of the annotated reference.
The annotations describe the subject matter and comprehensiveness of the entry material. The few sources which are not annotated list the reference which identified or referred to that particular source.
The final chapter presents a summary discussion of the status of viola research in the areas noted by each chapter heading of the treatise and lists recommendations for further research.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 979-8-206-59087-6Publication Date: 1988
