Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Chamber Music

M300–386 Trios:

 M300–M304  Organ and two other instruments:
     M300      Collections (different composers)
     M301      Collections (one composer), original works
     M302      Separate works, original
     M303      Collections (one composer), arrangements
     M304      Separate works, arrangements
 M305–M309  Reed organ and two other instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments:
     M310      Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements
     M311      Collections (different composers), original works
     M312      Piano, violin or viola, and violoncello
     M312.4      Separate works, original (other combinations than M312 instrumentation)
     M313      Collections (one composer), arrangements
     M314      Separate works, arrangements
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M325–M329  Piano and two plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M340–M344  Piano and other combinations (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M349–M353  String trios (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M355–M359  Wind trios:
     M355      Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements
     M356      Collections (different composers), original works
     M357      Separate works, original (woodwinds and brass)
     M357.2      Separate works, original (woodwinds only)
     M357.4      Separate works, original (brass instruments only)
     M358      Collections (one composer), arrangements
     M359      Separate works, arrangements
 M360–M364  Stringed and wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M365–M369  Plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M370–M374  Stringed and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M375–M379  Wind and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M380–M384  Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304)
 M385  Other combinations of specified instruments (including percussion)
 M386  Unspecified instruments, or combinations of specified and unspecified instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Classification Numbers of Other Frequently Requested Combinations

Ranges (for collections and separate works)

 M410–M449  Piano quartets (winds and/or strings)
 M450–M459  String quartets
 M455–M457  Wind quartets
 M510–M554  Piano quintets (winds and/or strings)
 M555–M559  Wind quintets

 

Most common individual works:

 M412  Piano quartets (Piano, violin, viola, and violoncello)
 M452  String quartets (Two violins, viola, and violoncello)
 M457.2  Woodwind quartets
 M457.4  Brass quartets
 M512.2  Piano quintets (Piano, two violins, viola, and violoncello)
 M557.2  Woodwind quintets
 M557.4  Brass quintets

Some Useful Subject Headings

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Trios:

 piano trios [always means works for piano, violin, and violoncello]  
 string trios [various stringed instruments]  e.g., string trios (violins (2), violoncello)
 brass trios [three brass instruments]  e.g., brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet)
 wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]  e.g., wind trios (flute, horns (2))
 woodwind trios [three woodwind instruments]  e.g., woodwind trios (bassoon, clarinet, flute)
 trios [various instruments of all types]   e.g., trios (piano, flute, violoncello)

 

 

Quartets follow similar patterns as above, for instance:

piano quartets [always means works for piano, violin, viola, and violoncello]

string quartets [always means works for 2 violins, viola, and violoncello)]

brass quartets [various combinations as above]

 

Patterns are similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.Other useful subject terms include suites and variations followed by the instrumentation, e.g., suites (piano, violin, viola, violoncello) or variations (flute, horn, percussion, violoncello).

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Baron, John H. Chamber Music : A Research and Information Guide. New York: Garland, 1987. ML128.C4 B37 1987

Cohn, Arthur. The Literature of Chamber Music.4 vols.Chapel Hill, NC: Hinshaw Music, 1997. PAC Ref. ML 1100 C678L4 1997

Farish, Margaret K. String Music in Print. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1973. Ref. ML128.S7F4 1973

Gillaspie, Jon A., Marshall Stoneham, and David Lindsey Clark. The Wind Ensemble Catalog. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998. PAC Ref. ML 128.W5 G52 1998

McCalla, James. Twentieth-Century Chamber Music. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2003

Stoneham, Marshall, Jon A. Gillaspie, and David Lindsey Clark. Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide.Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. PAC Ref. ML 128.W5 S76 1997

Selected Internet Resources

 Chamber Music America  www.chamber-music.org 
Victorian Amateur Chamber Music  http://home.vicnet.net.au/~vacms/